Get a First Deposit Match Bonus Up to $1000!
Play Now
100% Deposit Match Up to C$350
Play Now
Use Referral Code CANBET
Play Now
$100 Bonus Bet
Play Now
100% Matching Deposit Up to $1000
Play Now

Get a First Deposit Match Bonus Up to $1000!
Play Now
100% Deposit Match Up to C$350
Play Now
Use Referral Code CANBET
Play Now
100% on First Deposit Up to $500
Play Now
100% Matching Deposit Up to $1000
Play Now

NHL Art Ross Betting Odds 2022 – NHL Awards

Find the best NHL betting odds and all other NHL betting resources like picks, power rankings, and statistics here. One of the most important resources we can provide to those lookin

The Art Ross Trophy is given out each year to the highest-scoring player in the NHL. The award is one of the top honours a player can win with many winners, current or future Hall-of-Fame players.

Odds to Win the 2022 Art Ross Trophy

As the 2021 National Hockey League regular season is over, odds on the Art Ross Trophy are closed for betting. Odds on the 2021-22 NHL Art Ross Trophy will open after the Stanley Cup playoffs and once free agency starts. Below are the top players to win the Art Ross trophy in 2022. The odds were last updated on May 23, 2022:

Win 2022 Art Rosssportsinteractionbetway
Connor McDavidTBATBA
Leon DraisaitlTBATBA
Brad MarchadTBATBA
Nathan MacKinnonTBATBA
Patrick KaneTBATBA
Mitch MarnerTBATBA

Who Won the Trophy in 2021?

Connor McDavid took home the 2021 Art Ross Trophy after posting 105 points in only 56 games. While the total points were the second-lowest of any winner in the last six years, his points per game (1.875) were the most by a winner since Mario Lemieux led the National Hockey League with 161 points in 70 games in 1996. McDavid is a favourite for the Hart Trophy after his productive season. McDavid is also the favourite to win the Hart Trophy after leading the league in points.

Predictions at the Start of the 2022 NHL Season

As long as Connor McDavid is healthy and in his prime, NHL Art Ross odds will have him as the favourite to win the trophy at the start of each season. Conor McDavid has been first or second in the NHL in points per game the last five years and averaged over a point a game in his rookie season.

The biggest competition coming into the season for McDavid was his teammate and 2020 Art Ross Trophy winner Leon Draisaitl. After leading the NHL with 110 points in 2020, Draisaitl was right up there with McDavid coming into the season. Draisaitl finished second in the NHL this season with 84 points. As long as these two are paired together and involved in half of their team’s goals, they will be the most popular predictions to take home the Art Ross Trophy.

Art Ross Trophy Betting

When betting on the Art Ross Trophy, you need to consider a few things. The first is opportunity. The best players to bet on should be top line and the first powerplay players. Without a high number of opportunities to score or set up goals, a player will have a hard time winning the award.

The second is assists matter more than goals. The last player to win the Maurice Rocket Richard Trophy and the Art Ross Trophy was Alexander Ovechkin in 2008. Playmakers with multiple goal scorers around them win way more now than the guys who score the most goals.

The third is player health. Nate MacKinnon is likely to open 2022 as one of the favourites to win the Art Ross Trophy. MacKinnon is averaging 1.30 points per game the last four seasons but missed 29 games the previous four years. Health is hard to predict, but guys with a history are more likely to miss games – even if it is only a few at a time.

It is also good to know that players who win the Art Ross Trophy frequently win the Hart Memorial Trophy.

Why is it Called the Art Ross Trophy?

Art Ross
Art Ross pictured on the left

The Art Ross Trophy is named after former player, on-ice official, head coach, and general manager Art Ross. Ross was instrumental in developing and improving the game of hockey – from being considered the first defenseman to carry the puck up the ice to designing better nets and creating the red line. Ross was also the first head coach and general manager of the Boston Bruins. During his tenure there, he led the Boston Bruins to three Stanley Cup titles.

Previous Winners of the Art Ross Trophy

  • 2021 – Connor McDavid 105 points
  • 2020 – Leon Draisaitl 110 points
  • 2019 – Nikita Kucherov 128 points
  • 2018 – Connor McDavid 108 points
  • 2017 – Connor McDavid 100 points
  • 2016 – Patrick Kane 106 points
  • 2015 – Jamie Benn 87 points
  • 2014 – Sidney Crosby 104 points
  • 2013 – Martin St. Louis 60 points
  • 2012 – Evgeni Malkin 109 points
  • 2011 – Daniel Sedin 104 points
  • 2010 – Henrik Sedin 112 points

Art Ross Trophy Facts

  • There are multiple tiebreakers in the event players end the year tied-in points. First is total goals scored, second is total games played, and third is the player to score the first goal of the season. Ties at the end of the season have happened three times.
  • Wayne Gretzky has won the most Art Ross Trophies with ten in his career. Mario Lemieux is second with six Art Ross Trophies. Gordie Howe, Phil Esposito, and Jaromir Jagr are the only other players to win at least five Art Ross Trophies.
  • Gordie Howe is the first player to win multiple Art Ross Trophies and win consecutive Art Ross Trophies.
  • Bobby Orr is the only defenseman to win the Art Ross trophy-winning it in 1970 and 1975. Orr also won the Norris Trophy in those seasons.
  • The Pittsburgh Penguins have the most Art Ross Trophy winners with 15. The Edmonton Oilers are second with 11 winners.

Art Ross Trophy Betting FAQs

Can you bet on the winner of the 2022 Art Ross Trophy?

You can bet on the winner of the Art Ross Trophy before the start and during the NHL season. Betting may close at some sportsbooks before the end of the season if one player is significantly leading the league in points.

When was the Art Ross Trophy first awarded?

The first Art Ross Trophy was handed out in 1948 to Montreal Canadiens centre Elmer Lach.

Have any players won multiple Art Ross Trophies?

Yes, 15 NHL players have won the Art Ross Trophy at least twice in their career.

When is the Art Ross Trophy Awarded?

While the award winner is determined on the final day of the regular season, the award is not handed out to the player until the NHL Awards after the Stanley Cup Finals.

What are Other Important NHL Awards?

Other important NHL awards including the Hart Trophy, the Norris Trophy. The Rocket Richard Trophy, the Vezina Trophy, the Selke Award, the Lady Byng Trophy, the Jack Adams Award, and the Calder Trophy.