Get a 125% Deposit Match Up To $250!
Play Now
$100 Bonus Bet
Play Now
Get a First Bet Safety Net up to $1,000 in Bonus Bets!
Play Now
100% Deposit Bonus Up to $300
Play Now
Great Odds, High Limits!
Play Now

Get a 125% Deposit Match Up To $250!
Play Now
100% Matching Deposit Up to $1000
Play Now
Get a First Bet Safety Net up to $1,000 in Bonus Bets!
Play Now
100% Deposit Bonus Up to $300
Play Now
Great Odds, High Limits!
Play Now

NHL MVP Betting Odds 2024 – NHL Awards

The 2022 NHL MVP odds are now available. Please note that the odds are subject to change and as we progress through the season we will ensure to keep this page updated. The odds were last updated on May 23, 2022:

NHL MVP Odds 2022powerplaysportsinteraction
Auston Matthews-350-350-350
Connor McDavid+550+550+550
Johnny Gaudreau+950+1000+1000
Jonathan Huberdeau+1700+1700+1800
Igor Shesterkin+2000+2000+2000

With past winners such as Wayne Gretzky (9-times), Mario Lemieux (3-times) and Sidney Crosby (2-times), the NHL MVP is arguably the most prestigious NHL award, and with it comes exciting NHL MVP odds every year.

The 2021 MVP was announced as Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers! Congratulations to him on all the hard work he put in during the regular season.

Sportsbooks open NHL betting odds before the season on who will win the award and keep adjusting the line as the season progresses.

Bettors will see NHL betting odds on the MVP odds move as some players take their teams to expected heights, while others crash and flame out over the gauntlet that is the NHL regular season.


The award is selected by a committee of experienced hockey writers with the winner revealed about a week after the Stanley Cup Finals concluded.

Who is the Favourite to be the MVP at this Moment?

We are well into the NHL season, the biggest names in the game are dominating NHL Betting Odds to win the 2022 Hart Trophy, including several previous winners of the award. Don’t forget, you can also bet on NHL’s Rookie of the Year.

2022 NHL MVP Winners Odds

While McDavid leads the odds to win MVP, as of October 7, 2022, he ranks second in points, behind his Oilers teammate Leon Draisaitl. The performances of those players, plus the others in the top-five, make it an interesting question of who will be the NHL MVP.

Some of the best goaltenders early in the season have cracked in the top-15 for NHL MVP odds. However, it’s very much to play for with as enter the second half of the season. Darcy Kuemper is having a great season and may find himself in the running soon enough.

Odds to Win NHL MVP

No defenders crack the top 15 for NHL MVP odds

It has been a long time since a defensive player won the NHL MVP award, and it is hard to see anyone doing enough this season to overtake the top forwards or even goaltenders to challenge for the NHL MVP.

Predictions at the Start of the 2021-2022 Seasons

At the start of the year, Connor McDavid was the favourite to win the award at 3.00 NHL betting odds.

McDavid’s only improved his odds to win MVP. McDavid has consistently played like an-MVP in his young career and is often considered the best player in the NHL. However, what has held him back from winning the award on multiple occasions is his team performance.

Now, with the Oilers moving into the new season, the hope is that they Edmonton can carry McDavid to yet another MVP award.

Hart Trophy Odds

Of course, for many players winning the Hart Trophy pales in comparison to winning the Stanley Cup. However, players leading the MVP odds are often linked to the teams with the best Stanley Cup odds.


Forwards, and more recently wingers, have dominated the Hart Trophy Award. Since the 2004-05 NHL lockout, every NHL MVP except one has been a forward. In recent years, wingers have started to pick up the award more often than centres.

With NHL games seeing an uptick in goals the last few seasons, the chances of a goaltender winning the award have declined.

Goaltenders used to challenge for the award, back when the NHL was suffering through a scoring shortage. Now, however, goal scorers and playmakers get the most love from the writers when they vote for their Hart Trophy winner.

While not impossible, it takes a historical season to win the NHL MVP when playing for a non-playoff team.

The last team it happened was 1988 when a young star named Mario Lemieux bested Wayne Gretzky in points and goals with 70 and 168.

Outside of that year, only three players in the last three decades have finished as finalists for the Hart Trophy when playing for a non-playoff team (less than 5% chance of being in the top-three).

Since NHL awards are handed out after the Stanley Cup Finals, bettors should remember that the Hart Trophy is awarded based only on regular-season performance.

Players win a separate award, the Conn Smythe, for being the best player in the NHL playoffs and Stanley Cup Finals.

Also, anything players say about other players deserving the award, should not be taken into consideration. There is the Ted Lindsay Award, which is given to the most outstanding player voted by other NHL players.

Why is the NHL MVP Trophy Called the Hart Memorial Trophy?

The name of the trophy comes from the man who donated it to the NHL.

David Hart, the father of former Montreal Canadiens coach Cecil Hart, donated the trophy to the NHL in 1923. The original Hart Trophy was retired to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1960, and a new trophy called the Hart Memorial Trophy (often shortened to just Hat Trophy) replaced it.

The trophy has been awarded every year, excluding 2004-05.


Who won the first Hart memorial Trophy?

Frank Nighbor of the Ottawa Senators received the first Hart Memorial Trophy.

Can I bet on who will be named NHL’s MVP?

Yes, absolutely! You can find it either in NHL specials or NHL futures.

When was the Hart Memorial Trophy first awarded?

The Hart Memorial Trophy has been awarded 92 times since 1924.

How do they determine who is NHL’s MVP?

Every year the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association takes a vote on the “player judged most valuable to his team.”

What are other important NHL trophies?

The Vezina Trophy awarded to the best goaltender and the Calder Memorial Trophy given to the rookie of the year are two other important NHL trophies.

Where can I bet on who will be the NHL’s MVP?

It is important to only use trusted sports betting sites. That’s why we recommend sites we ourselves use on this page.