Get a 125% Deposit Match Up To $250!
Play Now
$100 Bonus Bet
Play Now
Get a First Bet Safety Net up to $1,000 in Bonus Bets!
Play Now
100% Deposit Bonus Up to $300
Play Now
First Bet Encore Up To $1500
Play Now

Get a 125% Deposit Match Up To $250!
Play Now
First Bet Encore Up To $1500
Play Now
Get a First Bet Safety Net up to $1,000 in Bonus Bets!
Play Now
100% Deposit Bonus Up to $300
Play Now
Great Odds, High Limits!
Play Now

NHL Rookie of the Year Odds

The odds to win the Calder Memorial Trophy for 2022 are now available. Be aware, that the odds are subject to change, and as such we will update this page when we see movements in the market. The odds were last updated on May 23, 2022:

Cole Caufield (Canadiens)
Trevor Zegras (Ducks)
Spencer Knight (Panthers)11.0011.0011.00
Alex Nedeljkovic (Red Wings)12.0011.0011.00
Moritz Seider (Red Wings)13.0013.0013.00
Marco Rossi (Wild)13.0014.0013.00
Alex Newhook (Avalanche)16.0016.0015.00

Cole Caufield

To win the NHL MVP Award


Bet Now!

Odds to win Calder Trophy 2022

First presented following the 1932-33 season, the Calder Memorial Trophy goes annually to the NHL’s top rookie. In the NHL betting odds, the Calder Trophy can prove to be very lucrative. The unproven quality of each season’s crop of the first-year talent often turns who will be the NHL rookie of the year into a wide-open race.

Often, a player who isn’t on the radar in the NHL Rookie of the Year odds at the start of the season will end up winning the award. Such was the case in 1992-93 when Teemu Selanne won the Calder after posting record 76-76-132 totals.

View full Power Rankings Report

Who’s The Favorite To Be The Rookie Of The Year Now?

nhl best player

When seeking out the best rookie in the NHL, a bettor will be required to analyze a deep list of prospects. While awards like the Hart for the MVP or the Vezina for top netminder generally narrow down to a shortlist rather quickly into the season, that’s not the case with the Calder Trophy.

Due to their inexperience at the NHL level, a player’s rookie season will tend to ebb and flow.

Similarly, the odds on the Calder contenders will also frequently change. Recognizing when a player is about to trend upwardly and thus, cause his NHL Rookie of the Year odds to shorten, is a key to successful Calder Trophy betting.

Predictions At The Start Of The 2022 NHL Season


It’s always difficult to know who’ll win the Calder Trophy each year, as there are normally so many great candidates. This year, it’s Cole Caufield of the Montreal Canadiens who leads the charge in the eyes of the bookmakers at 4.00. The young Russian has impressed throughout his professional playing career, but will now have to prove it on the big stage.

Following soon after that is the 20-year old Ducks player Trevor Zegras. The NHL Rookie of the Year odds has Zegras at 6.00 to win it, with the United States hopeful Spencer Knight behind him at 10.00.

While the young American is ready to make an impact for the Canadiens, giving other teams something to worry about as he’s only 20-years old and has a long way to go yet. While the odds may reflect this, the season is long and a lot can change quickly.

Follow the evolving Calder Trophy odds all season long at any of our partner sportsbooks in order to assess who among these first-year performers will be the best player among the NHL rookies.

Over the decades of Calder Trophy voting, more than one-third of the all-time winners played centre.

This actually makes sense. Centres carry much responsibility as both finisher, playmaker, taking faceoffs, and as the key forward in a defensive role, so they tend to have the puck a lot, produce more points and in general, draw attention to themselves.

At the other end of the spectrum, defenceman is the least likely position to be recognized as the best NHL player among the rookies. In fact, the Calder Trophy was awarded 30 times before it finally went to a defender when Kent Douglas of the Toronto Maple Leafs won in 1962-63.

You won’t locate a single defenceman among the top 50 rookie scorers in NHL history.

Putting up points gets a player noticed. In fact, the top four rookie scorers in NHL history all won the Calder Trophy.

Six of the top nine point producers as rookies carried the day in the NHL Rookie of the Year odds. The three who didn’t only lose out because they were the NHL’s second-leading scorer among first-year players behind the Calder Trophy winner during their rookie seasons.

Stanley Cup championships and Calder Trophy winners are a rare combination. It’s happened on just eight occasions that the best player among the NHL rookies was also on the Stanley Cup-winning team.

Montreal Canadiens is one of the teams which most produced Calder Trophy winners.

Since the NHL introduced the universal amateur draft in 1969, going first overall in the draft has often played a role in who’ll win the Calder Trophy.

Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs (2016-17), Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks (2007-08) and Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals (2005-06) were all Calder Trophy winners who were selected first overall in their draft year.

Hall of Famers Mario Lemieux (1984-85), Denis Potvin (1973-74) and Gilbert Perreault (1970-71) also turned this double.

Why Is The NHL Rookie Of The Year Trophy Called The Calder Trophy?


When it was introduced to the NHL at the start of the 1932-33 season, the trophy for the NHL rookie of the year was known simply as the NHL Rookie Award. Carl Voss of the Detroit Red Wings was the first winner. In 1936, the award was renamed the Frank Calder Trophy after the President of the NHL.

Calder purchased the trophy himself for each winner until his death in 1943. Red Dutton, Calder’s successor as NHL President, rechristened the award the Calder Memorial Trophy.

Past Calder Trophy Winners

 Year  Winner
2021Kirill Kaprizov (Wild)
2020Cale Makar (Avalanche)
2019Elias Pettersson (Canucks)
2018Mathew Barzal (Islanders)
2017Auston Matthews (Maple Leafs)
2016Artemi Panarin (Blackhawks)
2015Aaron Ekblad (Panthers)
2014Nathan MacKinnon (Avalanche)
2013 Jonathan Huberdeau (Panthers)
2012Gabriel Landeskog (Avalanche)
2011Jeff Skinner (Hurricanes)
2010Tyler Myers (Sabres)

Calder Award Betting FAQs

Can I bet on who will be named NHL’s Rookie of the Year 2021?

Yes, absolutely! You can find this bet either in NHL futures or HL specials.

When was the Calder Memorial Trophy first awarded?

The Calder Memory Trophy was first awarded at the close of the 1936-1037 season.

Who won the first Calder Memorial Trophy?

The first official Rookie of the Year was Carl Voss of the Detroit Red Wings. However, the first Calder Memorial Trophy was awarded four years later to Syl Apps.

What are other important NHL trophies?

The Vezina Trophy given to the league’s best goaltender and the Hart Memorial Trophy given to the MVP are two other important NHL trophies.

Where can I find NHL Calder Trophy odds?

You can find NHL Calder trophy odds on this page or at any of the top sportsbooks that we recommend.