NHL Norris Trophy Betting Odds 2022 - NHL Awards

The Norris Trophy is the annual award handed out by the National Hockey League to the defenseman that best exemplifies the best all-around play for the year. The guys who win this help on all 200 feet of the rink can kill off powerplays and set up or score game-winning goals.

Odds on the winner for the 2022 Norris Trophy are available for betting in Canada. However, the odds are subject to change. The current odds listed on this page are from January 10, 2022:

Norris Trophy WinnerSports InteractionBetwayBet99
Victor Hedman1.801.801.80
Adam Fox4.254.254.25
Charlie McAvoy10.0010.0010.00
Cale Makar11.0011.0011.00

Who is the Favourite to Win the 2022 Norris Trophy?

While it is still early to make this prediction, we can look at how past decisions were made as a way to guide us. 

It is a tight race for the NHL Norris Trophy this year, with all four guys able to make a case to win the award.

Both Cale Makar and Victor Hedman had great seasons for serious Stanley Cup contenders -  each finishing the year with a 7.3 point share. Charlie McAvoy finished tied for second in defensive point shares at 4.7, helping the Boston Bruins finish in the top-five in goals against this season.

Adam Fox was arguably the best offensive defenseman (and the biggest surprise of the four), finishing the season with 42 assists (sixth-most in the league) and 23 powerplay points, one behind Hedman for most by defensive this season.

Fox also showed some flare on defence, blocking more than 100 shots this season, helping him accrue a 7.8 points share – the fourth highest among all defensemen in 2021.

Our pick to win is Adam Fox. In only his second year, Adam Fox looks like one of the best offensive defensemen in the NHL. He played on a team much worse than the other three and still produced well enough that New Yorkers are proclaiming he is the second coming of Brian Leetch.

Adam Fox To Win 2022 Norris Trophy

The finalist for the award will be announced during the playoffs.

Who is the Preseason Favourite to Win the Norris Trophy?

The preseason odds for the Norris Trophy seem to suggest a few frontrunners. Though knowing exactly how things will turn out is anyone's guess. Right now Cale Makar of the Avalanche is the frontrunner.

Coming up right behind him are two excellent defensive skaters. Adam Fox of the Rangers and Victor Hedman of the champion Lightning are nipping at his tail. Expect these Norris Trophy odds to change drastically as the season advances. 

Betting on the Best Defenseman in the NHL

To have success betting on the Norris Trophy winner, you first need to understand the award and then find the best player (or players) that find that description.

Some bettors do not realize when going to bet on the award that it is an award for the best overall defenseman. The guys who win this award can create goals on the powerplay and kill off penalties. They need to have a complete game for the entire season to capture this trophy.

Tracking player performances and following Norris Trophy odds are two ways to stay in the loop of the best candidates to win the award. The stats will help you see where players are excelling and the odds movements where the public is betting.

Where does the Trophy Get its Name?

James Norris

The Trophy is named after James E. Norris, who purchased the Detroit Falcons (now the Detroit Red Wings) in 1932. Under Norris, the Detroit Red Wings would win five Stanley Cups – and continuing winning in the two years following his death in December 1952. Following his death, the NHL created the award and named it in honour of the Norris – and his contributions to the National Hockey League and city of Detroit. The award came six years after the introduction of the Art Ross Trophy.

Recent Norris Trophy Winners

  • 2021 Adam Fox
  • 2020 Roman Josi
  • 2019 Mark Giordano
  • 2018 Victor Hedman
  • 2017 Brent Burns
  • 2016 Drew Doughty
  • 2015 Erik Karlsson
  • 2014 Duncan Keith
  • 2013 P.K. Subban
  • 2012 Erik Karlsson
  • 2011 Nicklas Lidstrom
  • 2010 Duncan Keith

Notable Norris Trophy Stats

  • Bobby Orr holds the record for most points by a Norris Trophy winner, putting up 139 points in his 1970-71 winning season. Bobby Orr also won the Hart Trophy this season. 
  • The lowest points total by a winner is 26 in 59 games by Pierre Pilote in 1963.
  • Bobby Orr has the most Norris Trophy wins with eight, followed by Doug Harvey and Nicklas Lidstrom with seven each.
  • The last player to repeat as the winner was Nicklas Lidstrom, winning three in a row from 2006 to 2008.
  • Entering the 2021 NHL season, Erik Karlsson and Duncan Keith are the only active multiple-time winner of the award.

See below the top sportsbooks where you can wager online and choose the best one for you:

    Norris Trophy Betting FAQs

    • Yes, you can bet on the winner of the Norris Trophy from the start of the preseason into the NHL playoffs. You can find Norris Trophy odds in the NHL Futures or NHL props section of a sportsbook.

    • The first Norris Trophy was handed out in 1954, a year and a half following the death of James E. Norris. The first winner of the award was Red Kelly.

    • Yes, 13 players have won at least two Norris Trophies – with Bobby Orr holding the record with eight.

    • The Norris Trophy is handed out at the end of the season after the Stanley Cup (excluding in 2020 during the bubble playoffs).

    • Other important NHL awards including the Hart Trophy, the Art Ross Trophy. The Rocket Richard Trophy, the Vezina Trophy, the Selke Award, the Lady Byng Trophy, the Jack Adams Award, and the Calder Trophy.