Queen's Plate Stakes Odds

The Queen's Plate is currently held at Woodbine Racetrack and takes place in June or July. Run at the classic mile and one-quarter distance, the Queen's Plate is the first leg of the Canadian Triple Crown and is limited to three-year-old, Canadian-bred runners. Run on the synthetic footing of Woodbine, the Queen's Plate precedes the Prince of Wales Stakes and the Breeders' Stakes in the Canadian Triple Crown series. It is arguably our country's most prestigious race.

Remember that the US Triple Crown is made up of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes, three totally different races from the Canadian Triple Crown.

Queen's Plate Stakes Entries 

Wagering is about maximizing value and emphasizing opinions. Today's horse player needs the ease and convenience of a trusted online racebook. Not only can players enjoy the action from their laptops or mobile devices, there's also plenty of financial incentives to use one of the options below. From profitable bonus, loyalty and rebate programs, these providers put more cash back into the pockets of its players every day.

With a full array of betting options, the Queen's Plate features large fields and a great chance for bettors to make some serious coin. From conventional wagers to more exotic bets, the Queen's Plate is the marquee race of the year in Canada and attracts the interest and wagering dollars of players from all over the world.

Certain races transcend the sport with their tradition and history. The Queen's Plate is one of those races. With a proud heritage of horse racing, some of Canada's most best horses have won the Queen's Plate from Lexie Lou to Awesome Again to Dance Smartly. The race kicks off the Canadian Triple Crown, but in truth, it dwarfs the remaining races in the series. Whether a serious racing fan or one of casual interest, the Queen's Plate tends to capture the interest of bettors from all over North America and the rest of the racing world. 

Queen's Plate Stakes Picks

The Woodbine Tapeta surface provides a unique handicapping challenge for those uninitiated to its quirks. Far different from races contested on conventional dirt or turf, the Tapeta and sweeping turns at Woodbine tend to promote stretch runners, but that certainly isn't to say speed horses are at a disadvantage. In general, a race like the Queen's Plate underscores the parity of racing on a synthetic track as the runners turn for home often three and four abreast in a wide-open duel.

With heart-pounding finishes the norm, the Queen's Plate provides every thrill a bettor can ask for. A horse that has a proven affinity for the surface must be given extra attention when attempting to unlock a winner. 

Queen's Plate Stakes Results

Of all the elite runners to win the Queen's Plate, perhaps the two best-known are Awesome Again (1997) and Dance Smartly (1991). Both runners went on to capture important races in the United States after their triumphs in the Queen's Plate. Dance Smartly, a filly, won the Canadian Triple Crown and later went on to win the Breeders' Cup Distaff. Similarly, Awesome Again scored the biggest win of his career winning the Breeders' Cup Classic in 1998.