Following a 13 week regular season, Conference Championship Weekend, plus a slew of Bowl Games and a pair of playoff semi-final fights, two teams remain standing. That brings NCAA football betting fans to the Grand Finale, the National Championship Game. While it would make sense to expand the postseason, to something that is similar to the NFL format, there is nothing quite like a "winner take all" battle - no matter what setup proceeds it.

National Football Championship Predictions

Steeped in tradition, the history of the NCAA Football National Championship can be traced back to 1869 as Rutgers and Princeton were retroactively named co-national champions of what is officially considered the first season of US College football. Controversial, even way back then, deciding the top team has been hotly debated each season ever since. Though still not perfect, an expanded postseason would be much better, adding a playoff system helps decide a consensus Champion.

Many systems were tested over the years, including the Bowl Coalition and Bowl Alliance, but both of those were flawed - especially since they left out the Big Ten and Pac-10 teams. Attempting to bring some clarity to anointing a National Champion, the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) was introduced in 1998. The BCS was also fraught with controversy as it relied heavily on computers and polls to determine the two schools that played in the BCS National Championship Final.

NCAAF 2018 National Championship Results

College Football Champions

From 1869 to 2017, only 50 Universities have claimed an NCAAF title banner. Won during an era, long since past, Princeton has won or shared the most NCAFF National Championships as the Tigers have 28 titles. The Yale Bulldogs are next with 27 and Notre Dame is third as the Fighting Irish have 22 Championships. That is ancient history though as Princeton and Yale haven't been contenders for decades while Notre Dame last reigned supreme in US College Football way back in 1988. 

Power Five Conferences have ruled recently - particularly the Southeastern Conference who claimed five titles during an eight year run from 2009 to 2016. Alabama won four of them, Auburn claimed one, while Florida State (ACC) Ohio State (Big Ten) and Clemson (ACC) were the three non-SEC Champs. Proving how fallible computers and polls can be, the #1 ranked team as yet to win under new playoff system as #4 Ohio State, #2 Alabama and #2 Clemson were the first three winners.

Players soak up NCAAF title appearances as only a handful move on to the NFL. The ones that do advance to the next level are usually stars as players like Joe Montana (Fighting Irish/49ers) Tom Brady (Wolverines/Patriots) Marcus Allen (Trojans/Raiders) and Tony Dorsett (Panthers/Cowboys) all own a National Championship and a Super Bowl ring. Remember, local lottery retailers in Canada do not offer single wagers on the NCAAF title match - CSB top ranked online sportsbook do!

Championship Wagering Sportsbooks In Canada

Prior to the Monday night National Championship match - NFL Wild Card contests play out on the weekend. That sets up an action packed three days as online bookmakers load their betting boards with options on the NCAAF title game plus the first round NFL playoff games. The pros take over from there as the Divisional and Conference Championship matches lead to the battle for the Vince Lombardi trophy on Super Bowl Sunday. Canadian sports lottery schemes pale when compared to offshore Championship wagering sportsbooks who offer single wagers on every title fight.

Once the American Football seasons end, the NHL and NBA garner bettor's attention since both leagues are entering the final weeks of their regular season schedules. With playoff pushes in high gear, hockey and hoops betting options are the main focus at online sportsbooks during the long winter days of February and March. Instead of shovelling out and driving to the local gas station, Canucks can conveniently wager on all the action without leaving the house. Baseball is also just around the corner and top CSB bookmakers cover the action all the way to the MLB World Series.