With past winners such as Wayne Gretzky (9-times), Mario Lemieux (3-times) and Sidney Crosby (2-times), the NHL MVP is arguably the most prestigious NHL award, and with it comes exciting NHL MVP odds every year.

The 2020 MVP was announced as Leon Draisaitl of the Edmonton Oilers! Congratulations to him on all the hard work he put in during the regular season. 

The 2021 NHL MVP odds are now available. Please note that the odds are subject to change and as we progress through the season we will ensure to keep this page updated. The odds were last updated on March 10, 2021: 

2021 NHL MVP Odds 

  betway 888sport bodog

Conor McDavid

3.50 3.55 3.50

Nathan McKinnon  

4.50 4.50  4.50

Auston Matthews

7.00 7.00 7.00

Leon Draisaitl

 9.00 9.00 9.00

Artemi Panarin

10.00 10.00 10.00

Elias Pettersson

18.00  18.00 18.00

Jack Eichel

19.00 19.00 19.00

Alexander Ovechkin

19.00 19.00 19.00
Leon Draisaitl To be the 2021 NHL MVP
888 Sport

Sportsbooks open NHL betting odds before the season on who will win the award and keep adjusting the line as the season progresses.

Bettors will see NHL betting odds on the MVP odds move as some players take their teams to expected heights, while others crash and flame out over the gauntlet that is the NHL regular season.


The award is selected by a committee of experienced hockey writers with the winner is revealed about a week after the Stanley Cup Finals concluded.

    NHL Betting Odds
    For the latest Info and Insights
    Read more
    Betting Odds & Insights: Stanley Cup
    For all the latest updates and news
    Read more
    NHL Rookie of the Year Odds & Insights
    Who will be crowned in 2021?
    Read more
    NHL Betting Odds
    Betting Odds & Insights: Stanley Cup
    NHL Rookie of the Year Odds & Insights

Who is the Favourite to be the MVP at this Moment?

We are well into the NHL season, the biggest names in the game are dominating NHL Betting Odds to win the 2021 Hart Trophy, including several previous winners of the award.

2020 NHL MVP Winners Odds

While McDavid leads the odds to win MVP, as of February 24, 2020, he ranks second in points, behind his Oilers teammate Leon Draisaitl. The performances of those players, plus the others in the top-five, make it an interesting question of who will be the NHL MVP.

  • Play Online Now
    BONUS 300$
  • 2021 NHL Vezina Trophy Winners Odds

    The 2021 NHL Vezina Trophy odds aren't available. Please note that the odds are subject to change and as we progress through the season we will ensure to keep this page updated. The odds were last updated on March 10, 2021: 

    2021 Vezina Winners Odds

    Betway888 SportSports Interaction
    Andrei Vasilevskiy (Lightning)
    Connor Hellebuyck (Jets)
    Carey Price (Habs)
    Carter Hart (Flyers)
    Jacob Markstrom (Flames)

    Some of the best goaltenders early in the season have cracked in the top-15 for NHL MVP odds. However, it's very much to play for with as enter the second half of the season. Darcy Kuemper is having a great season and may find himself in the running soon enough. 

    Odds to Win NHL MVP

    No defenders crack the top 15 for NHL MVP odds

    It has been a long time since a defensive player won the NHL MVP award, and it is hard to see anyone doing enough this season to overtake the top forwards or even goaltenders to challenge for the NHL MVP.

    Predictions at the Start of the 2019-2020 Seasons

    At the start of the year, Connor McDavid was the favourite to win the award at 4.75 NHL betting odds.

    A month in, McDavid’s only improved his odds to win MVP. McDavid has consistently played like an-MVP in his young career and is often considered the best player in the NHL. However, what has held him back from winning the award on multiple occasions is his team performance.

    Now, with the Oilers leading the Pacific Division early, McDavid’s case to add his second MVP is strong. When McDavid won the MVP in 2017, the Oilers finished with 103 and made the playoffs for the first time in a decade.

    Early into the 2019-20 season, the Oilers are on pace for 113 points, their most points since 1986, when Wayne Gretzky won the Hart Trophy.

    Hart Trophy Odds

    A few recent winners also find themselves in the mix for this year’s MVP. Taylor Hall (2018 winner), Nikita Kucherov (2019 winner) and Sidney Crosby (2007 and 2014) are proving as challenges to McDavid’s claim as the best NHL player this year.

    Conor McDavid To Win 2021 NHL MVP
    Sports Interaction

    Of course, for many players winning the Hart Trophy pales in comparison to winning the Stanley Cup. However, players leading the MVP odds are often linked to the teams with the best Stanley Cup odds


      What Position Should You Focus on Betting?

      Goaltenders Chances on the Decline

      Can the MVP come from a Non-Playoff Team?

      Regular Season Performance

    • Forwards, and more recently wingers, have dominated the Hart Trophy Award. Since the 2004-05 NHL lockout, every NHL MVP except one has been a forward. In recent years, wingers have started to pick up the award more often than centres.

    • With NHL games seeing an uptick in goals the last few seasons, the chances of a goaltender winning the award have declined.

      Goaltenders used to challenge for the award, back when the NHL was suffering through a scoring shortage. Now, however, goal scorers and playmakers get the most love from the writers when they vote for their Hart Trophy winner.

    • While not impossible, it takes a historical season to win the NHL MVP when playing for a non-playoff team.

      The last team it happened was 1988 when a young star named Mario Lemieux bested Wayne Gretzky in points and goals with 70 and 168.

      Outside of that year, only three players in the last three decades have finished as finalists for the Hart Trophy when playing for a non-playoff team (less than 5% chance of being in the top-three).

    • Since NHL awards are handed out after the Stanley Cup Finals, bettors should remember that the Hart Trophy is awarded based only on regular-season performance.

      Players win a separate award, the Conn Smythe, for being the best player in the NHL playoffs and Stanley Cup Finals.

      Also, anything players say about other players deserving the award, should not be taken into consideration. There is the Ted Lindsay Award, which is given to the most outstanding player voted by other NHL players.


    Why is the NHL MVP Trophy Called the Hart Memorial Trophy?

    The name of the trophy comes from the man who donated it to the NHL.

    David Hart, the father of former Montreal Canadiens coach Cecil Hart, donated the trophy to the NHL in 1923. The original Hart Trophy was retired to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1960, and a new trophy called the Hart Memorial Trophy (often shortened to just Hat Trophy) replaced it.

    The trophy has been awarded every year, excluding 2004-05.

  • Play Online Now
    BONUS 200$